Creative Views
Books, literary works, penned masterpieces . . .

Matterhorn: A Novel of the Vietnam War

Labels: ,

Intense, powerful, and compelling, Matterhorn is an epic war novel in the tradition of Norman Mailer’s The Naked and The Dead and James Jones’ The Thin Red Line.


It is the timeless story of a young Marine lieutenant, Waino Mellas, and his comrades in Bravo Company, who are dropped into the mountain jungle of Vietnam as boys and forced to fight their way into manhood. Standing in their way are not merely the North Vietnamese but also monsoon rain and mud, leeches and tigers, disease and malnutrition.

Almost as daunting, it turns out, are the obstacles they discover between each other: racial tension, competing ambitions, and duplicitous superior officers. But when the company finds itself surrounded and outnumbered by a massive enemy regiment, the Marines are thrust into the raw and all-consuming terror of combat. The experience will change them forever.

Written by a highly decorated Marine veteran over the course of thirty years, Matterhorn is a spellbinding and unforgettable novel that brings to life an entire world—both its horrors and its thrills—and seems destined to become a classic of combat literature.


About the Author

A graduate of Yale University and Rhodes Scholar at Oxford University, Karl Marlantes served as a Marine in Vietnam, where he was awarded the Navy Cross, the Bronze Star, two Navy Commendation Medals for valor, two Purple Hearts, and ten air medals. This is his first novel.


Click on the link below to buy the book.

Matterhorn: A Novel of the Vietnam War



=======================
Creative Views makes online shopping for books, new books, used books, children's books, literature, and other great pieces of writing easy and convenient. Creative Views brings you the hottest updates on best-selling and popular books from book authors and creative writers.
0 comments:

Current Reads

Follow Us by Email!

Readers' Comments

Readers